Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Another Reason to Cheer for the Saints

It wasn't just my undying hatred of all things Manning that caused me to root for the Saints during Sunday's Superbowl match-up (I was raised a Pats fan, after all), I was also cheering on gluten-free quarterback Drew Brees! Aside from being a top-notch quarterback and kicking Peyton Manning's butt, Brees is allergic to gluten, eggs and dairy. Pretty exciting, the Saints get a franchise first Superbowl win and living gluten-free gets a little time in the spotlight.

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Just When You Thought Living Gluten-Free Was Hard Enough




Gluten-Free Fraud. Again I ask, what sort of world do we live in?

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Gluten Free Libation

I've always been a beer girl. Not exactly conducive to living gluten free, especially since I just don't care for gluten-free beer. I think it's the sorghum, that metallic aftertaste is really off putting. I've talked about Redbridge before here and I find it's a great gluten-free cooking beer - I've made some delicious beer cheese soup with it. But, I don't want to sit down at the end of a long day and enjoy a refreshing Redbridge - ick.
What's a gluten free beer lover to do?

Luckily, the team over at beeriety (I love their blog for their fun beer facts) have been exploring gluten free beer options and posted on it last week. Be sure to check it out! And let's all hope some craft brewer will take up their challenge to create a truly delicious GF beer. In the meantime . . .

Did you know Guinness is wheat-free?! From wheat-free.org:

"With the exception of Breo White Beer, none of the products produced by Guinness Ireland Group contain wheat. However all our beers are brewed from malted barley. Barley contains a protein called hordein which is somewhat similar to gluten, the protein in wheat that causes difficulty for quite a few people. While the reaction to barley protein is generally much milder than to wheat gluten, a few people may experience difficulty with barley-based products including beer."

"This information is only advisory and we recommend that you speak directly to a qualified medical advisor / dietician if you are concerned about consuming any of our products."

So yes, Guinness is wheat free but not gluten free.

Woohoo! If your one of the lucky ones who can tolerate hordein (I am! I am!) Guinness just entered the enjoy in moderation list. And Guinness is so, so much better than Redbridge!

Of course, there are some things that, in my opinion, are even better than beer and that would be a martini. I was turned on to martini drinking by co-workers in June and since Joe has learned to make the perfect dry martini with extra olives so I can enjoy one after a hard day. Gin, distilled from juniper berries, is naturally gluten-free, but sometimes contains additives that result in trace amounts of gluten. But, according to celiac.com and the new gluten-free guidelines, all distilled liquids (including vinegar and gin) are safe.

At the most basic level the new guidelines mean that celiacs do not need to avoid foods containing unidentified vinegar or distilled alcohol, this alone will allow much more freedom when shopping or eating out. Further, celiacs who drink alcohol will have much more freedom and a far greater choice when they want to have a drink. Additionally, celiacs will be able to more easily maintain a well-rounded and nutritious diet because they will have access to a far greater number of highly nutritious and safe grains.

If you consider the distillation process, these new guidelines are quite logical. I've never had any trouble with Bombay Sapphire or Tanqueray.*

Here's a list of gluten-free alcohol. Or, at least what should be gluten-free, it's never a bad idea to double-check:

  • Armagnac
  • Bourbon
  • Brandy
  • Champagne
  • Cider
  • Cognac
  • Gin
  • Grappa
  • Kahlua
  • Kirschwasser
  • Mead
  • Mistico
  • Ouzo
  • Rum
  • Sake
  • Scotch Whiskey
  • Sherry
  • Sparkling Wine
  • Tequila
  • Vermouth
  • Vodka
  • Wine
You might wonder, why is Scotch Whiskey gluten-free, but not Irish, Canadian, etc? It's odd considering what they said about distillation. I'm wondering too, will try to find the answer . . .

*Everyone is different and everyone has different body chemistry. What works for me, might not work for you and vice-versa.
Blog Widget by LinkWithin